Founder’s Award

The Founder’s Award is a way of recognizing individuals who have significantly contributed to the field of probation in general, and specifically to the POPAI organization. The recipient need not be a Probation Officer or POPAI member. The selected person, however, shall be characterized by his/her commitment of influence and promotion of professionalism to Indiana probation. Previous award winners include Judge Vicki Charmichael, Glenna Shelby, Tom Frederick, George Walker, Bruce C. Embrey, Charles Bud Meeks, Linda Parks, Greg Werich, Eric Zimmermann, Jane Seigel, Neil Hannon, and Susan Rice.

Madonna Wagoner of the Hamilton County Probation Department and POPAI’s 2022 “Founder’s Award” winner with her children.

On Thursday, September 8, 2022 at the Probation Officers Professional Association of Indiana (POPAI) annual fall conference, Madonna Wagoner of the Hamilton County Probation Department was awarded the “Founder’s Award”. Learn more about Chief Madonna Wagoner

Founder’s Award Recipients

2023 (No nomination) 2022 Madonna Wagoner 2021 Susan Allen
2020 (No nomination) 2019 Troy Hatfield 2018 Judge Vicki Carmichael
2017 Glenna Shelby 2016 Susan Rice 2015 Joe Hooker
2014 Justice Brent Dickson 2013 Linda Brady 2012 Rep. Ralph Foley
2011 Don Travis 2010 Neil Hannon 2009 Eric Zimmerman
2008 Jane Seigel 2007 Allan Henson 2006 Greg Werich
2005 (No nomination) 2004 Tim McAlhany 2003 Charles “Bud” Meeks
2002 Bruce C. Embrey 2001 George Walker 2000 Tom Frederick