Awards & Scholarships

Founder’s Award

Troy Hatfield, 2019 Founder’s Award Winner

The Founder’s Award is a way of recognizing individuals who have significantly contributed to the field of probation in general, and specifically to the POPAI organization. The recipient need not be a Probation Officer or POPAI member. The selected person, however, shall be characterized by his/her commitment of influence and promotion of professionalism to Indiana probation. Previous award winners include Tom Frederick, George Walker, Bruce C. Embrey, Charles Bud Meeks, Linda Parks, Greg Werich, Eric Zimmermann, Jane Seigel, Neil Hannon, Susan Rice, Glenna Shelby, and 2018’s Winner: Judge Vicki Carmichael.

The 2019 Founder’s Award Winner is Troy Hatfield.

Troy started as a juvenile probation officer in Owen County in 1998. He moved to Monroe Circuit Court Probation in 2004 where he quickly moved into leadership and supervisory roles. He became the community corrections supervisor in 2006 and was promoted to deputy chief in 2009. Troy has previously served as the Chair of the Probation Officer’s Advisory Board (POAB) and has served as an instructor at the State Probation Officer Academy. He has made presentations for the National Institute of Correction and to the Indiana General Assembly. He is also involved in the Indiana Evidence Based Decision Making Initiative, Justice Reinvestment Advisory Council, and Case Plan Technology Committee.

Learn More about the Founder’s Award

Donald “Charley” Knepple Scholarship

The Probation Officers Professional Association of Indiana provides a scholarship in memory of Donald “Charley” Knepple. Charley lost his life on April 28, 1997, while performing his probation officer duties in Allen County, Indiana. In an effort to honor an outstanding professional and to promote further professionalism, POPAI selected a scholarship that would encourage continued education and advanced degrees for probation in Indiana.

Learn More

The 2021 Knepple Scholarship Awarded to Two Excellent Candidates

Alexis Stogdill

This year we received applications from two applicants who are equally impressive. For the first time that any board members could remember, the applicants ended in a tie. Both scored phenomenally well with several scoring guides reflecting the maximum points allowable. POPAI awarded two (2) scholarships this year. Congratulations to Sarah Lochner and Alexis Stogdill.


“Rookie” Probation Officer of the Year

2020 “Rookie” Probation Officer of the Year: Jessica Stall

The “Rookie” Probation Officer of the Year Award was established to recognize probation officers who, while at the beginning of their career, show the attitude, aptitude, and the desire to improve themselves and to develop into leaders among their peers. Nominees shall be within their first two (2) years of certification as a probation officer in the state of Indiana.

Learn More about The “Rookie” Probation Officer of the Year Award

Line Probation Officer of the Year

2019 Line Probation Officer of the Year: Lindsay Long

The Line Probation Officer of the Year Award was established to recognize line probation officers who have performed their duties in an outstanding manner and/or made significant contributions to the field of probation at the local, regional or national level. The recipient may also have brought credit or honor to the profession of probation through participation or involvement in community activities or programs. This recognition will be awarded to probation officers who are involved in the direct supervision of criminal defendants/juvenile offenders and/or other line probation officer duties such as conducting Presentence Investigations, Preliminary Inquiries, and Predispositional Investigations.

Lindsay Long, a probation officer with Miami County Probation, is the POPAI 2019 Line Probation Officer of the Year.

Lindsay has been a probation officer since September 2009. Her Chief Probation Officer, Susan Rice, states “when needed, Lindsay is always willing to step up and go the extra mile. She quietly volunteers to help out when the department is short staffed and takes on additional duties without being asked.”

Learn More about the Line Officer of the Year Award